GOLD 0.51% $1,391.7 gold futures

more from richard russell

1. 3,360 Posts.
    I apologize to Chuck for 'stealing' this off the general thread on HC and reposting it over here, but there are some more interesting comments from Richard on gold that I thought many may have missed with it being on the general thread.

Members' Area - Richard's Latest Remarks

November 21, 2008 -- I've been studying the stock market since the mid-1940s. In all those 62 years, I've never seen a market like this one. Yesterday was another 90% down-day, the tenth since September. I sat through the horrific 1973-74 bear market. There were "only" four 90% down-days during that bear market.

This bear market is downright brutal. The rapidity and intensity of the selling has been literally mind-blowing. My only conclusion is that this bear market must be discounting some kind of God-awful situation that we are heading into. I'd rather not guess what this bear market is discounting, but is must be historic. Is rising gold providing us with hints?

Yesterday the Dow closed down 444.90 to close at 7552.29. This is just 82 points above the halfway level of the 1982 to 2007 bull market. If the Dow closes below 7470, the 50% Principle will come into play. Based on the 50% Principle, if the Dow closes decisively below 7470, the Dow could decline to test its 1982 low of 776.92. That thought is so gruesome that I hesitated to mention it.

Yesterday there were 1894 new lows on the NYSE. A total of 3271 issues were traded. This means that 57.7% of all the stocks traded yesterday broke to new lows. This doesn't match the 92.6% of October 10, but it's still a ghastly number.

People ask me, "What's the market doing?" I answer, "It's telling us in the most direct way it can that there is major trouble ahead. What kind of trouble? I have no idea."