marborough- mbg green alert to 15c

1. 258 Posts.
    There was renewed interest in Marlborough. I know that I have been calling mbg for a couple of months and since then it has consolidated and look like heading higher. It was held down by its recent 1 for 3 share issue but that will be bedded down tomorrow. The issue will be fully taken up reflecting the confidence in the company. Issue was made at 4.3c pershare and on Fro share closed about 5.5c showing confidence with the issue.

The cash raised is to increase the production of tin by about 70% to around 2000 tonnes per annum, a very respectable level. It will also be used to increase the resource at Ardlethan Mine and surrounding areas. All these sound very positive in light of the increasing tin price. When I initially wrote tin price was at under $4000 US, and now it is at $5400 US and increasing. I know it is not as sexy as gold or nickle but the market will soon reevaluate with increasing price. China is also very hungry for tin, so price can only continue to increase.

Mbg is very well run. I was a bit uncertain with previous md who seems to be less agresive but now with change of head I think a lot will change and many opportunities will be look at. It has hedge its US$ exposure to a great extent and now enjoying it so protected against the A$ rise for a proportion of its revenue. As an example, mbg will be divesting its interest in its gold tenement and shares will be given to shareholders in a float of the new company. The md recognises that the value of the tenement (Lucky Draw) is not being recognised in mbg and through a separate float shareholders can realise the value which otherwise is not being reflected. The shares to be given are shares in Republic Gold which is yet to be listed, entitlement date yet to be determined.