junior oilers january 25/26

1. 1,317 Posts.

Junior oilers January 24/25

Disappointing week for the junior oilers reflecting the broader market’s concern about possible hostilities with Iraq. Even the Cliff Head drilling and next week’s Twin Lions spud failed to excite much interest as investors waited to see the results of the Cliff Head production test. In fact Cliff Head has been a bit of a fizzer so far and the jv partners have yet to pronounce on whether it is commercial or not.

All the Perth Basin stocks, AWE, ROC, HDR, NEW, VOY, BUY and ARC finished pretty much at or below where they started the week.

I am not optimistic that next weeks production test of the Cliff Head 3 ST will excite the market. A vertical hole into a mediocre reservoir chasing viscous oil is hardly likely to flow at spectacular rates. But then again I am no expert. The test result will probably disappoint but I don’t expect much impact on share prices as, unless they decide to drill a second ST, the rig will quickly move on to Twin Lions.

Winners for the week included First Australian Resources (FAR) which closed Friday at 6.4 cents after spending some weeks below six cents following the failure of Argus. On Friday FAR reported good results from its Rainosek 3 well in Texas but renewed interest in the stock is more likely reflecting the drilling of Banjo 1 in March. FAR has a 30% interest in this Apache operated hole though is looking to farm out some of this stake. It has already fully paid $US1.4 to Apache for its share of the costs. FAR should record increased revenues from its operations in the US when it reports on Q2 activities next week I suspect we will see increasing interest and share price strength in FAR in the weeks ahead.

FAR is a good example of how a stock with an established cash flow and an active drilling program can bounce back from a duster and move on to the next project. FAR was good buying when its shares fell to 5.4 cents back in November after Argus.