Antonín Dvořák - Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 104, B. 191...

  1. 2,920 Posts.
    lightbulb Created with Sketch. 3
    Antonín Dvořák - Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 104, B. 191 (1894)
    The Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 104, B. 191, is the last solo concerto by Antonín Dvořák. It was written in 1894 for his friend, the cellist Hanuš Wihan, but was premiered by the English cellist Leo Stern. The piece is scored for a full romantic orchestra (with the exception of a 4th horn), containing two flutes (second doubling piccolo), two oboes, two clarinets, two bassoons, three horns, two trumpets, three trombones, tuba, timpani, triangle (last movement only), and strings, and is in the standard three-movement concerto format:
    I. Allegro (B minor then B major; about 15 minutes)
    II. Adagio, ma non troppo (G major; about 12 minutes)
    III. Finale: Allegro moderato — Andante — Allegro vivo (B minor then B major; about 13 minutes)
    Total duration: approximately 40 minutes.

    Cello : Jacqueline Mary du Pré
    Jacqueline Mary du Pré, OBE (26 January 1945 – 19 October 1987) was a British cellist. At a young age, she achieved enduring mainstream popularity. Despite her short career, she is regarded as one of the greatest cellists of all time.Her career was cut short by multiple sclerosis, which forced her to stop performing at the age of 28. She battled the illness for a further 14 years until her death at the age of 42. She was the subject of the 1998 biographical film, Hilary and Jackie, which attracted criticism for perceived inaccuracy and sensationalism.

arrow-down-2 Created with Sketch. arrow-down-2 Created with Sketch.