again we do it, you m-f*****s

  1. 413 Posts.
    Again we make the lsit, despite the odds....and where are our Arab contributors to humanity?

    The same old story......

    Never mind......we'll do our bit, no matter what muck Belmore TOU and the other ratbag element throw at us.

    Dec. 10, 2004 15:55 | Updated Dec. 11, 2004 11:30
    Israelis receive Nobel Science price

    Israeli professors Aaron Ciechanover and Avram Hershko and American Irwin Rose received the Nobel Price in Chemistry on Friday for their work in discovering a process that lets cells destroy unwanted proteins.

    Hershko and Ciechanover are the first Israelis to receive a Nobel Prize in science. Their work has led to breakthroughs in the understanding and treatment of cancer, degenerative brain diseases, cystic fibrosis, and many other disorders.

    The scientists, who work at the Technion, Israel Institute of Technology in Haifa, shared the Nobel Prize with Prof. Rose of the University of California-Irvine.

    The professors join five other Israelis who have won Nobel Prizes: Yitzhak Rabin, Shimon Peres and Menahem Begin (Peace), Shai Agnon (Literature), and Daniel Kahneman (Economics). Twenty percent of Nobel Prize winners in the Twentieth Century are Jewish, including Albert Einstein and Isaac Bashevis Singer.

    Ciechanover and Hershko met with representatives of the local Jewish community, and told Army Radio that "you could feel a surge of Jewish pride in the room." The professors also met with a Swedish cancer patient in the Israeli Consulate in Stockholm. The patient has reportedly recovered from the illness thanks to medicines developed on the basis of Ciechanover, Hershko and Rose's work.

    Royalty, scientists, business leaders and diplomats began gathering in the capitals of Sweden and Norway on Friday for the traditional twin ceremonies honoring the year's Nobel Prize winners from Israel, Kenya, Austria and the United States.

    Kenyan environmental activist Wangari Maathai became the first African woman to receive the peace prize for her work fighting for the environment and the rights of women and children. She accepted a gold medal, a diploma, along with 10 million kronor (EURO 1.1 million, US$1.5 million), from Ole Danbolt Mjoes, chairman of The Norwegian Nobel Committee.

    In her lecture, she warned that threats to the world's environment were linked to expanding peace.

    "The Norwegian Nobel Committee has challenged the world to broaden the understanding of peace: There can be no peace without equitable development; and there can be no development without sustainable management of the environment in a democratic and peaceful space," she said. "This shift is an idea whose time has come.

    "The state of any country's environment is a reflection of the kind of governance in place, and without good governance there can be no peace," Maathai said in her speech.

    Noticeably absent this year was the literature prize winner, Austrian Elfriede Jelinek, who stayed away from the Nobel festivities this week citing a social phobia. Although she sent a prerecorded video lecture, she did not send any prepared remarks for the banquet.

    Americans Richard Axel and Linda B. Buck won the medicine prize for their work on the sense of smell. Americans David J. Gross, H. David Politzer and Frank Wilczek won the physics prize for their explanation of the force that binds particles inside the atomic nucleus.

    Norwegian Finn E. Kydland and American Edward C. Prescott received the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences for shedding light on how government policies and actions affect economies worldwide.

    The economics prize was introduced in 1968 and is funded by Sweden's central bank. The other awards are funded by the Nobel Foundation.

    The Nobel Prizes are usually announced in October and are handed out every year on December 10, the anniversary of the 1896 death of Nobel, a Swedish industrialist and the inventor of dynamite. The first awards ceremony took place in 1901.

arrow-down-2 Created with Sketch. arrow-down-2 Created with Sketch.