adelaide crushes brisbane

  1. 47,636 Posts.
    lightbulb Created with Sketch. 13
    Port Adelaide has won its first ever AFL premiership after defeating the Brisbane Lions by 41 points in the grand final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

    In only their eighth season in the AFL, the Power put to rest the tag of 'finals chokers' by winning the season decider 17.11 (113) to 10.13 (73).

    The Lions led by a single point at half-time, but were simply overrun by a hungrier Port outfit who ruined their chance of winning four straight premierships.

    Port were ably led by veteran Gavin Wanganeen who kicked four goals late in the second half, a performance reminiscent of Darren Jarman's inspirational effort in the Adelaide Crows' maiden premiership in 1997.

    He was well-assisted by Byron Pickett and Toby Thurstans, who both kicked three.

    Jason Akermanis, Daniel Bradshaw and Tim Notting all registered a trio of goals for Brisbane.

    Dave R.
arrow-down-2 Created with Sketch. arrow-down-2 Created with Sketch.